KB108: How to: Clear your ticker board

Summary

By design, ticker boards continue to show the last data sent to them, even after the software that is driving them is shut down. To clear your ticker board, you can either unplug your board then plug it back in, or you can clear it from TickerDisplay.

To clear your ticker board:

  1. Click
  2. Click
  3. In the messages tool bar, click > . The Message Text dialog box appears.
  4. Press SPACEBAR.
  5. Click OK.
  6. Click
  7. Click
  8. From Do, select the blank message you just created.
  9. Click Add.
  10. Click
  11. Select the ticker board that you want to clear.
  12. From Schedules, select the schedule you just created.
  13. Select the Active check box beside the ticker board that you want to clear.

Once your ticker board has cleared, you can close TickerDisplay. Your board remains blank until you send more data to it.

Additional information

In order for your ticker board to scroll, it must constantly be fed data. Once you stop feeding data to it, for example by shutting down TickerDisplay, it freezes with the current data displayed until such time as it begins receiving data again.